Home Rules & Help The State Winners will get the opportunity to compete for the national winner’s title under an “October Sky.” The state winners get to launch their rockets from Homer Hickam Field in a competition held at Space Camp and celebrate at the US Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama.

National Winners receive a trophy and framed
Space Shuttle Challenger - commemorative coin signed by Grace Corrigan, Christa McAuliffe’s mother. Competition co-directors, Jack and Kathy Colpas boast that, “National winners receive memories to last a lifetime and bragging rights for generations to come.”

*Travel & Meals Not included

2012 winners received their coins from Astronaut, Jon McBride and then rode the Shuttle Launch Experience with him.  Past winners have celebrated with
Christa McAuliffe's mother, Grace Corrigan , Astronauts Bill Readdy, Jerry Ross, Mark Lee, Marcos Pontes, John Blaha and Tom Jones as well as Homer Hickam and the “ Rocket Boys .”

College and University students across the country are challenging each other in a rocket competition. The ‘Spot Landing’ event follows National Association of Rocketry guidelines. Competitors in the Reach for the Stars ~ National Rocket Competition / Youth Challenge must build their rockets according to manufacturer’s instructions.   Collegiate Challengers however are called upon to redesign their basic rocket kits (eg. Estes – Alpha / Quest – Astra).

Fins, body tube, total weight, accurate wind measurement and parachute design are all variables in this equation. Use of computer programs (like
NASA’s Rocket Simulator III ) will aid students in making changes that will land their rocket as close as possible to the on-field target.

The rocket kits that students will be redesigning are small and safe (according to the
FAA “below regulation”)
– no permit or licensing is required.  Sports fields are perfect for launch.
Author Homer Hickam & Astronaut Tom Jones greet 2008 National Winners Sports Fields are perfect for launch
Design & Construct
Grant Info Youth
Back Next